well hello there ...
It's for Charity!!
Friday, Oct. 04, 2002
8:50 AM

So yesterday was quite a day. I kid you not, I was in meetings straight from 10 am until 4 pm. To those of you that don�t have to attend meetings in such a manner, well let me just fill you in on a little something. It is just as exhausting as working all day on a busy day at a fast food restaurant. No my feet don�t hurt and I don�t smell of old grease at the end of the day, BUT my left eye is completely bloodshot (like that one crazy teacher on Daria), I have a headache and my brain is exhausted! I know, I know, those of you that do manual labor for a living and sitting there blowing me off thinking that I am just another whiny blue collar � but I am telling you, I have been where you are and thought the exact same thing. But you know what I�ve learned? Things are tough all over and the grass is always greener and you can pick your friends and you can pick your nose, but you can�t pick your friend�s nose.

Last night Fu and I went to Dillard�s to buy him two new pull-overs for work. He really needed them as his other polo-type shirts have seen better days, but we happened to pick last night because I honestly did not feel like ironing him a shirt for today. And the best part is he completely understood why I was being so whiny. I sure do love him!

By the way, Dots, I was talking to Sunnie & Eric about Sunnie�s 10 year HS reunion this past weekend and it turns out that some girl she went to HS with is a minister and knows Nikki! Just another confirmation that you are the Nexus of the Universe! Pretty freaky huh? Oh and I talked with D and she said that she had talked to you at that birth & babies class and they way she described the conversation, I think you are right, I don�t think she �got� your sense of humor. Oh well, just more fun for you and me.

Tomorrow morning we have to be in downtown OKC at 6 am! WooHoo! Actually it is for a good cause, we are working the finish line at the Komen Race for the Cure to benefit breast cancer research. I worked it last year too and it was really touching to watch so many women (and men) rally together for such a good cause. It even became quite an emotional experience as I watched women in hats to cover their bald heads push their friends across the finish line in wheelchairs (as they had become too weak to walk let alone run). I stood there pushing my little button to log their times as they crossed and thinking to myself the whole time that even though I have little frustrations in my life, I am so thankful for my health. These were some of the strongest women I had ever met and my only fear is that tomorrow some of them won�t be there because they lost their own private race against time.

So here is what I propose � tomorrow if you are sitting around with nothing to do, go help someone. If the Race for the Cure is happening in your town tomorrow or anytime soon go volunteer to help out. If you stand and hand out water or fruit, if you help set up or clean up, if you just stand at the finish line and cheer them on as they cross that line, that is enough. Just do something � anything to help these women. You never know, someday it could be you, or your mother, or sister, or aunt, or best friend.

I will be wearing pink tomorrow,
Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��No More Lonely Nights - Wings
Socks of the Day: ��blue, green, white striped
Smell of the Day: ��Krispy Kreme donuts
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006