well hello there ...
Stella Rocks My World
Sunday, Jan. 02, 2005
9:49 AM

New Year's Eve? Yeah I slept right into it. Well, actually I woke up at midnight on the dot and told Fu I loved him and Happy New Year. Then I went right back to sawing logs.

But let me start at the beginning�Fu and I decided to get out of the house for the day. So we headed to Bricktown (OKC's version of Dallas' WestEnd or SanAntonio's River Walk) for lunch and a movie (the life aquatic, of course). We ate at this place called Abuelo's that several people had told us was good. We soon found out that while they may not have lied, it really wasn't all that great.

After lunch we still had an hour and a half before the movie started, so we decided to just ride around and look for something to do. Well "it" ended up riding past us in a pack. "It" was a group of Vespa and Stella scooters. See New Year's Eve was a beautiful day here, about 72� and partly cloudy. The kind of day that is perfect for motorcycle or scooter rides. So this group of scooter enthusiasts (the "Sputniks" to be exact) ride past us and suddenly Fu and I know where we are going.

You see, Fu has been talking about wanting a scooter for quite some time and I've never really paid much attention, until that day. So we headed on over to Atomic Brown Scooter Shop to check them out. WELL, much to my surprise, scooters are actually quite inexpensive. I was thinking they would be $7�10k, but NO, they are only $2�3k. WooHoo!! So, as we looked at them all and drooled we made the decision that when we get a few extra bucks we would both buy one. ACK!! I am so freaking excited!!

Also, over the past few days I've learned that there is this whole subculture of Scooter enthusiasts. Who knew? Well, I guess I'm about to become a part of that group!

Here's a picture of the beauty I've got picked out for myself.

Yeah BABY!! I may get a different color, but you get the picture.

ANYWAY! Yesterday we met up with Dots and Jeremy to see "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" (since we didn't see it the day before). It is great! I highly recommend it. One funny thing, there was this guy sitting in front of Fu who, during the entire movie, laughed at the most inappropriate times. And I don't mean he giggle to himself or his date/wife, but let out a big bellowing laugh like he had just heard the funniest thing. Also, not that I like or condone the use of this word, but Bill Murray says "Bull Dike" several times throughout the movie and EVERYTIME he said it the weird guy laughed out loud, and I mean LOUD! It was quite bizarre.

Okay, so after we decide to go and get coffee somewhere so we can sit and talk. We agree to head to Starbucks on N. Western. As we are driving up there, Jeremy calls and says that he knows of a little indie place off Walker and we should go there instead. Cool, done. So we arrive, order and sit down and quickly realize that #1) we are the oldest people in there by at least a decade, and #2) there is a guy setting up a single mic and that it must be open mic poetry night. SHIT! Look, let me take a moment and explain that while I think every single person is entitled to express themself as they see fit, I am VERY uncomfortable listening to people recite poetry. I don't know if it's because I know they've most likely written these thoughts at a low point in their life or just because I have a penchant for giggling inappropriately. Either way, this was not going to be good.

So the show begins with a late teen-something kid getting up and reciting a longish piece in which he moves from the left to right side of the mic as if he were two characters having a conversation. A conversation about one of them having been raped 5 years earlier. YIKES!! It was excruciating!

Next up is another kid who gives us a list of things that he once thought he would do and now does not. For example:
Dreams of being an architect, 1991�1997;
Dreams of becoming a Broadway singer, 1997�1998;

You get the picture. Well one of those things was "Thought masturbating with Icy-Hot was a good idea, 1995�1995." Okay, so that is funny enough in and of itself, but in his next poetic piece, he mentioned masturbating with Icy-Hot AGAIN! At this point it is obvious to everyone that he had in fact done exactly that.

I just about peed my pants.

Anyway, after a few more kids got up and spilled their guts, Fu asks Dots and Jeremy if they would pay him $20 to get up and recite the lyrics to Rick Springfield's "Jessie's Girl" as if it were his poem. They start laughing and he starts writing them out. Sometimes he scares the bejesus out of me. Then Jeremy writes out the lyrics to "Ice Ice Baby." Seriously, those two together are dangerous!

No, no, no, they didn't do it. We are all adults and realized that if they did it would seem like they were mocking these kids "artistic pain." Now, had it been a bunch of our friends or even our "crowd" I know for damn sure they both would have gotten up.

Anyway, that's been our weekend. It's been great!

Jessie was a friend,
Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��Jessie's Girl
Socks of the Day: ��barefoot
Smell of the Day: ��Fu's Krystal burger smelling fart
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006