well hello there ...
Scooters and Weight Loss and Rockabilly, OH My!
Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005
1:29 PM

Well, we did it.

We each bought ourself a new scooter.

I know, I know, seems like Brad just got a new scooter right? Yes well, he has had it since May but it's for sale now and he wanted to go ahead and get his new one before that one sold.

He got a black Stella.

And I got a pearl green TNG Milano 150cc.

They are a BLAST!! We got them last Saturday and went for a ride that evening. Sunday we tried to go on a ride with the local scooter club, but since I had only been riding one day and was still VERY nervous, we didn't make it too far. We basically went by the capitol, through bricktown, and then downtown. Once we reached Broadway, the rest of the club turned and we came home. It was just too fast with too much traffic for a second day driver. ACK! I had a bad case of the shakes by the time we got home.

Here, just try to remember what it was like the first time you got behind the wheel of a car. Now imagine if someone told you to immediately get on the highway and floor it during rush hour. You might get an idea of how I felt. Also, remember that there is no seat belt or windshield or DOORS! Yeah, it's a little nerve racking. But!, I'm getting used to it. Brad forgot to take his new Paste magazine with him to work this morning, so I ran it up there on my scooter around 10am. Each time I ride I feel a little more comfortable, so it shouldn't be too long before I feel more relaxed in traffic.

Anyway, enough about that. How about an update on our weight loss? Well we are still on WW and doing GREAT! Brad has lost almost 30 pounds and I have lost almost 25. I think we are week 10 or 11, so that's pretty good! We also walk a lot more, in fact he often walks to work (which is hard with that new Stella beckoning him). Hopefully we'll be able to join the Y once the weather starts getting nasty.

Tomorrow night we are going to see a couple of local bands at VZD's. So if you're in OKC and feel like some Rockabilly or Ska, come on out and see the Starkweather Boys and The Magnificent 7. I guarantee it will be a great show!

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��One of These Things First - Nick Drake
Socks of the Day: ��white w/ blue & red polka dots
Smell of the Day: ��that manicotti I had for lunch
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006