well hello there ...
Songs From My Past: A list of rememberance
Friday, Apr. 29, 2005
9:22 AM

Thanks to Weetabix for taking me on a trip back to the music of my college days, I am compilling a list of the songs that take me right back to a specific point in time.

Okay, here we go ...

Mountain Song - Jane's Addiction
Takes me right back to the first Lollapalooza for which I was fortunate enough to have tickets.

Very First Lie - Material Issue
But really you could pick almost any song off their "International Pop Overthrow" album and it would take me back in time. This song though, takes me right back to my first real broken heart. Damn him!

Here�s Where The Story Ends - The Sundays
I used to just drive around Dallas with my windows down singing along to this entire album, but this song was my favorite.

Kiss Them for Me - Siouxsie and the Banshees
Another song that takes me back to Lollapalooza. That was such a great show, it really opened me up to a whole world of music. Too bad it's such a commercial nightmare now!

Come Together - Primal Scream
Yet another driving around tune. There was a lot of music that I was into that is so far gone now it�s hard to remember, but there are a few that I listened to so much they burned their way into my psyche.

Get Down, Make Love - NIN
Back when he was brand new and seriously hardcore as far as I was concerned. This song fueled one particularly intense make-out session in my college days.

No One Is To Blame - Howard Jones
This one will always hold a special place in my heart. That guy that ended up breaking my heart put this on the stereo as we, well let�s just say that most everybody remembers their �first time.� (Now that I listen to it again, it seems a little twisted.)

The Cure, The Cure, The Cure, they were the running background music from the time I was 17 until about age 24. And to be honest, they still are sometimes, they have such a deep hold on me that I will probably be with me forever.

About 5 years ago I came out of a long relationship and seemed to have a freedom revival. During that time there were once again songs that I �connected� with and can�t seem to forget. Here�s that list.

If You Wear That Velvet Dress - U2
A good friend, that I�ve now lost contact with, brought this song to me. It is one of U2�s most beautiful songs. It makes me feel all warm inside.

This Years Love - David Grey
Went with two fabulous guys to see him in concert in Dallas. That was a road trip/concert I will surely never forget.

She Don�t Need Me - The Pistol Arrows
Had a friend that was the drummer in this band for a while, so of course I went to see them almost every time they played. This is a great song, but even better live!

As You Are - Travis
This entire album (The Man Who) is amazing. I listened to it so many times I almost wore it out. The songs on it take me right back to late 2000, early 2001. I was going on a lot of trips, New Orleans, St. Paul, Las Vegas, and they really were the soundtrack of that time for me.

Lover, You Should�ve Come Over - Jeff Buckley
Boy, this one just rips me up every time I hear it. I think I had a mini-crush on a guy at the time and this song got played over and over again in my car.

Since Fu came into my life, I've got a whole new playlist going on, but I'll save that one for another day.

I�ve got lunch plans and now I need to go find a bunch of these CD�s so I can play DJ in my car on the way there.

~Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��take your pick!
Socks of the Day: ��hmm, I don't know
Smell of the Day: ��it smells like rain outside
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006