well hello there ...
A Car wrecked last night
Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2002
8:13 AM

So last night Fu and I were out running errands having to do with our upcoming wedding, we finished and started back toward Norman. We were driving east bound on I-240 and had taken the exit ramp to I-35 South. As we drove past the huge crater of land that occurs when you have a butterfly highway intersection we both noticed that a car had driven off into it and flipped. The lights and flashers were both on, so we knew it had happened VERY recently. I start to pull over so we can run to help but there is some ASSHOLE riding my tail!!! (if you are reading this I hope it rots and falls off!) So I tell Fu to grab the cell and dial 911, because there was NO ONE else around, I knew we were the first to notice. He calls the police and I have to tell him exactly where we are so that he can relay it to the dispatcher. During this period I am trying not to wreck due to the icy/snowy conditions and the JERKWAD riding my ass. By the time I get off the highway, head down a one way the WRONG way to try and get back to the accident, Fu and I see that there are 2-3 cars stopped now and at least 5 people standing around the upside down car. At this point we have already called 911 and given the lowdown and realize that there are plenty of people there already helping the accident victims and that by the time we get back to the scene, we will just look like looky-lu's. So we decide that the situation is under control and head toward home. NOW - before you start thinking that we didn't do enough or that we should have gone back anyway, let me explain one more detail to you. When we noticed all the people standing around, I am saying that literally - those 5 or more people were just standing there. Fu and I realized that had anyone been trapped in that car, they would have been pulling them out or running to their cars for phones or to drive for help. Trust me on that one - I don't know how it is where you live, but here in OK people will risk their own lives to help a stranger in a life threatening situation. I know this because my mother is one of those people. (One time a car in front of her on the hwy hit a cement embankment and flipped - she stopped her car and ran to help - she ended up staying with the woman and even riding with her to the hospital - she stayed just until the woman's husband showed up then mom just left - she didn't want any thanks or praise, she was just doing what needed to be done - you know, Mom gets on my nerves a lot, but she really is a good person - hmmph anyway sorry for that tangent!) ANYWAY - the whole point of this is to tell you that yesterday was a really good day for Fu and I; he got a job and passed his written driving test, I found out my work deadline was being pushed from next Monday until mid-April, and we took care of SEVERAL wedding related tasks - but in the end we realized that happy days can change on you in the blink of an eye. I am so thankful for all the things in my life - especially having someone as special as Fu near me. You know, he is funny in his diary, but that barely scratches the surface as to just how wonderful he is. I love him so much - it is just crazy!!

thankin my lucky stars,
Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��
Socks of the Day: ��
Smell of the Day: ��
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006