well hello there ...
Even more domestic - BITCHES!
Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2004
7:22 AM

So, as mentioned previously, I received a sewing machine for Christmas. And I have to say that while trying to thread it and figure out how to work it, well, the damn thing brought me to tears of frustration.

Now, in my own defense, it was realized later that day that I was PMS'ing so it wasn't all me being a wuss. However, I thought for a few brief moments that I was the biggest idiot of the face of the planet.

I mean, really, how hard could it be to sew. I see all kinds of women (and men for that matter) sewing the hell out of shit. AND I know for a fact that I'm not a complete ignoramus, so I just couldn't understand why I was having such a hard time.

Well, I've now conquered that demon! Can I get a HALLELUJAH?!!

Yes, that's right, I've been sewing the hell out of shit for the past two days. Yesterday I sewed two dog bone shaped stuffed toys and one tiny little pillow for Dudley. Yes, I know dogs don't use pillows, but I had a scrap of material and some extra stuffing, so pillow it was!

Then, this morning, I took an old baby crib bumper pad that I bought at the Salvation Army and bleached the hell out of and made bumper pads for the dogs crates. Yes, this probably seems excessive to some, but our dogs really like to sleep in their crates (it's a "denning" thing), but I hate to see them lay up against the metal bars that are along the side. So I bought a baby crib bumper for a dollar, measured the inside of the crate, measured out sections of the bumper pad, sewed seams dividing it out, cut, and sewed bias tape (?) to them as tie tabs and VOILA! The doggies don't have to lean against metal bars all night long anymore.

Now I just need to learn how to sew things for humans! :)

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��Canned Heat - Jamiroquai (Napoleon Dynamite soundtrack)
Socks of the Day: ��flip-flops
Smell of the Day: ��that weird sewing machine smell
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006