well hello there ...
Hanging in a chow line ... Good Times!
Thursday, Jul. 22, 2004
8:25 AM

Right, so the sale went through. A very, very large educational publisher now owns the company I work for. AND they are owned by an even LARGER company that I think owns most of Sweden.

Long story short ... they are shutting us down. They announced it one week after the sale was final. They handed each of us black folders with a neatly typed sheet of paper inside showing our individual end dates. Mine is September 7. Exactly 60 days after their announcement as mandated by some federal regulation. Honestly, that day can't come soon enough for me. Talk about short timer syndrome!

So, who knows what the future holds. Fu and I will be okay, we will be able to keep our house and cars and so forth, but the cable and cell phones may have to go unless I can find a decent paying job. Just not sure what I want to do. It's not like there are a ton of publishing companies here in Oklahoma. I may do some freelance. I may take some college classes and try to finally finish my degree. Who knows!

Words of advice are welcome!

Smooches,
Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��theme from Good Times
Socks of the Day: ��none - it's flip-flops from here on out!
Smell of the Day: ��the sweet smell of freedom
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006