well hello there ...
Lil' Sexy Mexy served up some fine Menudo
Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004
12:00 PM

This past Sunday my little brother turned 19 and I wasn�t there to wake him up with a bullhorn or Silly String, as is our yearly ritual. No, Fu and I had to haul-ass back to OK Saturday night because I left our toiletries bag sitting in the living room. No that doesn�t seem like such a big deal until you know that it contained all of my medicine and as I have been having quite a bit of trouble with my hands lately, there was no way I could go without two doses.

So we left OK at 5am Saturday morning and returned at 10:30 that same night. Man, were our butts dragging! But we had a great time! We took Dudley with us and he was a VERY well behaved little pug.

Fu and Matt (my brother) drove into Dallas and spent a nice chunk of change at Bill�s Records and Tapes. When they returned we all (Fu, Matt, me, Dad, Deanna, and Jeromiah) went to eat at a tiny little authentic Mexican restaurant there in Anna. Unfortunately Fu and Matt had just eaten lunch a couple of hours previous, so they weren�t all that hungry and this made Fu decide that he would just have something light, like a soup. Well that just set the scene for the events that occurred within the next couple of hours.

Fu and Matt are reviewing their menus and Fu settles on �Menudo� thinking that it is basically a Mexican gumbo and will be a light soup he can eat. Matt being the poser that he is (haha) decided that he too would have a bowl of Menudo. Now, for those of you out there of a Latino heritage, you are well aware of what I am about to discuss. Those of you that are not should know that Menudo contains, among other things, tripe. No, not trout, TRIPE! What is tripe? Well tripe is the muscular lining of beef stomach (it can also be from sheep or pigs, but in this case my Dad said it was goat). It comes in 4 types: the fat part of the first belly (called gras double in France), and three different sections of the honeycomb (the second stomach of the cow)--light, dark, and the partial honeycomb of the 2nd belly's extreme end. Now, I mean absolutely NO offense to the Latino community when I talk about Menudo and how it grossed me out to no end, because I am sure there is stuff I (and most Americans) eat that seems rather nasty to people of other cultures. Yeah, so basically it was a fucking FEAR FACTOR food challenge occurring right next to me while I tried to choke down my quesadilla.

It was absolutely crazy. Once Fu found out what it was he wanted to change his order, but was afraid of offending the wait staff/owners. Then, once it arrived in front of him and he could see the little phalanges that made it look furry, well he just couldn�t even take a bite. My brother, bless his heart, did take one bite but couldn�t swallow. Then my Dad, original Tough-Man that he claims to be, begins to tell them how it�s good and they should just eat it. He even goes so far as to ask Fu for his bowl so that he can have some of it. THEN, he cuts off a small piece and gives it to my 5-year old nephew, Jeromiah, and tells him to eat it. ACK!! Poor kid, at one point he looked at me and said, �It tastes like furry caterpillar skin.� Yeah, I let him spit it out into my napkin.

Anyway, that�s basically where the story ends. Fu was thoroughly disgusted (as was I) and we decided that he would most definitely have to brush his teeth before he even thought about kissing me!

Smooches,
Squeeky

P.S. I forgot to tell you that the back of the waitress� shirt read �Lil� Sexy Mexy� Awww Yeah!!!!

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��Two Tickets to Paradise - Eddie Money
Socks of the Day: ��black, blue, and brown striped
Smell of the Day: ��Mango melon something or other
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006