well hello there ...
Here's to good friends!
Saturday, Oct. 20, 2001
4:11 AM

On spending an evening with really good friends:

I just had a really great evening with some really good friends! We all got gussied up and went to the Penthouse VIP suite of RP racetrack (horses not dogs - mmmkay?). It really was a lot of fun, Olivia and I rode together and met up with Chigga, J-Lo, Wendy, Em, Laural, and Jan at Miss Wendy's house. We all left from there and headed out to RP racetrack. Mind you that this was a company (as in the company we all work for) party, so we were there with coworkers, etc. Let me just pause for a minute and say that there aren't a whole lot of things in this world more entertaining than watching & listening to people you work with just get bombed out of their minds on $1 beer at the cash bar. They ALWAYS have interesting things to say, you know?!? I only bet on the last race and lost $5 - not a huge gambler you know. I was concentrating on my 3 rum & cokes that were, in all honesty, more rum than coke, gotta luv that!

Anyway, so we are all eating and drinking and just having a good time when I realize that I need to excuse myself to use the powder room. So off I go, well I finish up in there and realize that there is a fancy sitting area on the outskirts of the powder room yet still inside the actual door of this room and it HITS me - I can sit in this quiet little room and make an uninterrupted phone call. Now let me tell you that I had been wanting to make this phone call all evening, but knew that if I picked up my cell phone at the table it would be on, everyone would begin to make noises and comments, you know, just like I would if one of them did this! haha Anyway, so I place my call and sit there (again, NOT in the actual rest room area, yet an offset little lounge) and talk it up for a nice little while. I finally finish up my call and walk out right as Wendy walks in - she laughs and asks if I have been in here all this time, I say yes and she asks if I was on the phone, I say yes and IT IS ON!! I walk back to our table and everyone asks where I've been and then make some joking remarks about how I was probably on the phone. When I tell them that yes I was on the phone, they all just dig in! Don't get me wrong they weren't being mean in even the slightest way - it was all done out of love - you would just have to know this group, they are a riot!

Summary of the evening:

Wendy asks all night what we are doing afterward.
Chigga drinks like there is no tomorrow.
Olivia mingles and tells me a REALLY good story from her life.
Em got his hair cut and found some nice pants - he was STYLIN!
J-Lo was pretty quiet all night, but at some point chair danced with Wendy & Laural.
Erin & her bo were there for a bit, but left early (perhaps we were a bit much for them to handle)
A lady we work with told Em & Wendy that they needed to just go ahead and get married and have a sister for my nephew (um Em is my brother).
AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST, once we got outside and were waiting for the valet's to bring our cars around, I whipped out the trusty camera and Chigga, J-Lo, Olivia, Wendy, Em, and I all began to cheese it up and blend with the locals for some guaranteed hilarious snap shots. Seriously, there are some HYSTERICAL goings on in those pictures (hopefully they will develop them - some are a bit lude!)

Kodachrome is KING,
Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��
Socks of the Day: ��
Smell of the Day: ��
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006