well hello there ...
Shit That Happened Today (12/18/03)
Thursday, Dec. 18, 2003
9:38 PM

Yeah, so I live with a 5-year old man.

Fu is SO excited about Christmas that he asks to open a present EVERY day. I am not exaggerating either. Yes, so he tries to disguise it by saying that we can both open one and that he really wants me to have what he bought in this box or that, but we both know that he actually is so wanting to open his Johnny Cash UnEarthed box set that he could wet himself.

Well tonight I relented.

So as I write this, I am listing to him scan through every single song on that 5-disc(?) set. I have to admit, I am glad he talked me into it as that is a really good set. I can't believe that some (or all?) of these songs were the ones he chose to NOT put on their respective albums. Wow! He really, really was a great talent and it just sucks teet that he is gone.

Okay, so on to what I got...he had wrapped 4 CD's together for me, so I got them all tonight. They are:
1. No Doubt: The Singles 1992-2003
2. Mojave 3: Spoon & Rafter
3. Counting Crows: Films About Ghosts
4. Ryan Adams: Love Is Hell pt.2

Yeah baby, now who's the one about to wet them self? Me that's who!! I can not wait to "rock out" to No Doubt on the way to work tomorrow. (Yes I have the vernacular of a 12-year old in 1986 - shut it!)

**************************************

Today at work I was talking to one of the teams in my department and we ended up on the subject of the Secret Santa reveal tomorrow and what food item each of us was bringing. One of the girls said that she was making the candy that I gave her the recipe for. It�s name? Crotch Candy You see, I got the recipe from Dots and she explained to me one time how it got it�s name, but I really can�t remember. The funny part is that you can make it with or without nuts. So during this conversation, the ONE and ONLY man in my department says (and I shit you not), �I like my crotch candy with nuts.� It was so funny that the whole department ended up in this team�s area laughing about what had just been said. It was the highlight of my work day!

**************************************

My office has also adopted two families currently living in a local shelter for Christmas. So, after work a girl I work with and I went on a bit of a shopping spree for the families. The boys were really easy to buy for, it was the mother of one family and the daughter in the other that were difficult. You know, you can know a woman�s clothes size but not really know if she will like what you buy. With guys it is much more simple � if they say they need socks or t-shirts, you buy them socks or t-shirts. When a woman puts that she wears a size 8 pant, you have no clue if she wants/needs jeans, slacks, or lounge pants. Anyway, I think that the sweater I bought her will be good for just about anyone. I bought all the clothes at Old Navy, so I figure that they will work out.

I know this may end up sounding really vain or shitty, but it really feels good to be able to do for other people at this (or any) time of year. Fu and I have been SO fortunate this year and we are thankful for that every day, but I think it is only right that we help out those that haven�t been as fortunate as us.

Well, I need to get to bed as tomorrow will no doubt be hectic. It is my last day at work before our 2 week Christmas break. Yeah that�s right, I�m rubbing that in. I get two weeks off PAID at Christmas. :P Go ahead, go cry yourself to sleep.

I�m a stinker,
Squeeky

last :: next

Song of the Day: ��In the sweet by and by - Johnny Cash
Socks of the Day: ��blue and green striped
Smell of the Day: ��Crab Rangoon (my dinner)
Last Five Entries:

New Ramblings - Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009
return of the squee - Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009
Movin' on up! - Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006
Our Life These Days - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006
Downtown OKC and his urge to take a whiz - Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006